I love my Chromebook, but let’s compare it to a laptop from 2003

So I was given a “broken” IBM laptop to play around with.

All that I had to do was install Windows 7 to it and plug in the cable for the trackpad. After that, it was game on with my Chromebook CR48. Let’s compare.

DSC_0776

CR48 Running Windows 7

IBM T41P Running Windows 7

Windows Rating: 2.2 Windows Rating: 3.1
Wifi Test: 9.22 mbps Wifi Test: 15.5 mbps
2 GB RAM 2 GB RAM
16GB SSD 50GB HD
Intel Atom Processor N455 1.66GHz Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz
12 Inch Screen 14 Inch Screen
3.8 LBS 5.3 LBS
Bluetooth Bluetooth
Rated 8 hours – I can confirm that it’s somewhere around there. Rated 6 hours – If you don’t have a crapped out battery like mine. I get an hour.
Graphics Storage: ZIP. None. Caput. Graphics Storage: 128MB
Cost to me: Free Cost to me: Free

So who wins in this case?

The IBM will be a fine laptop once I get a replacement battery for a whopping $20 on ebay. As you can see, it has a better Windows rating, better Wifi speed, same RAM (And both max out at 2GB), larger hard drive, better processor surprisingly, bigger screen, a convenient light to see the keys in the dark, and a ton more graphics capability (Something not often found on laptops.

The downside to the IBM? It’s ugly. It’s got that typical “I’m stuck in the 90’s” – Businessman look. I’d say it’s heavier, but i’m not one to complain about weight. But you go on Cnet and they’ll close the door on the laptop simply for that reason – No matter the capability. And sure. It doesn’t have a webcam. That’s why I have a phone.

Now, for the Chromebook, you’re right. It’s not supposed to be on Windows anyway. But until I was given the IBM, I didn’t have a computer with the capability to print (Until I put Windows on the CR48.) It’s much lighter, and has 3G capabilities. Battery as of right now is FAR superior, it has a webcam and it’s an attractive looking laptop. On Chrome OS, the laptop was perfectly snappy and could do any online docs editing and video watching.

I don’t have any complaints about either laptop. Neither win. They were made for completely different reasons. The IBM was made for business folk and the Chromebook was for the average user. They both do exactly what they were made to do. I just wanted to make a point on how laptops haven’t changed much. I mean, look at how far the mobile phone industry has come.

From Nokia’s to flip phones to blackberries to iPhones and Androids. No way could I even make a comparison with a phone from 10 years ago to today. They’ve evolved too much. On the contrary, laptops may have webcams, i7 chips, touchscreens or what, but in general, they haven’t really changed all that much. It’s like what they do with the iPhone. They make it slightly better, add a newer version of the operating system and call it new. Same thing with a laptop.

One thought on “I love my Chromebook, but let’s compare it to a laptop from 2003

  1. Pingback: Why are people such ungrateful twits in this godforsaken country? You don’t need a new computer. | jcoinster

Leave a Reply

